Built in 1765, the Cannonball House is an iconic landmark for Lewes and is the home of the Lewes Historical Society’s maritime museum. It is called the Cannonball House because of the wide array of scars it shows, including an imbedded cannonball in its foundation, from the infamous Bombardment of Lewes. Now the backyard of the house displays a wide variety of plantings, enlivening and brightening this historical space.
The Lewes and Rehoboth Canal connects the Broadkill River and the Delaware Bay to Rehoboth Bay. As one drives over the drawbridge, lush hayrack planters spill over with stunning annuals, while the slope off the bridge, down toward 1812 Park, is lit up with a variety of common and unique perennials and annuals.