Beauty Spot Award Program

The LIB Beauty Spot Award successfully launched in 2016. Designed to honor beauty throughout the greater Lewes community, the award also serves to thank gardeners for their efforts to enhance beauty on their properties.  A LIB Beauty Spot winner can be based on overall landscape, planted beds, containers, front door, patios – or even a beautiful corner. It doesn’t have to be an entire yard or property. It can be any size “spot” in the zip code 19958.

Awardees received the Beauty Spot Award sign to display in their yard for a month; an award certificate from LIB; a $25 gift certificate from Wharton’s Garden Center; acknowledgement in the LIB newsletter, website and Facebook; as well as coverage in the Cape Gazette

All residential properties or spots in the greater Lewes 19958 zip code are eligible to participate. Lewes in Bloom membership is not necessary. Residents can self-nominate their property, and the general public can also nominate a residential property that catches their eye. LIB Board of Advisor’s members and LIB Beauty Spot Selection Committee members are not eligible. Candidate residences can be either owner- or professionally-designed and planted but must be owner-maintained.

To nominate a garden for the Beauty Spot Award, submit no more than three photos of the garden and a short narrative on the reason for nominating the garden.
Please include:
1) your name, email address, phone number, and the address of the beauty spot nominee, along with the community name, if applicable.
2) the name, email address, and phone number of the beauty spot nominee.
Submit all information to the Lewes in Bloom email address at with “Beauty Spot” in the subject line. Once we receive your information, someone will be in touch.

Thank you for your nomination.

The Beauty Spot Award Committee is led by LIB members Betsy Hansot, Linda McDonald, Ann-Marie Rooney, Lauren Rush, Lois Sechehay, and Sue Woelpper.

Beauty Spot Award Winners

CLICK on each link below to view pictures and a description of the award winning Beauty Spots

August 2023 Awardee Cecelia Cardano

August 2022 Awardees Mary and Barry Founds

July 2022 Awardee Gail Dubowe

June 2022 Awardee Jim Linder