Art in Bloom History

The Art in Bloom Steering Committee in 2016 Front Row: Carolyn Marshall and Jane Ellan Golde. Back Row, Ed Zygmonski, John Lester, David Beck and Warren Golde. Not shown: Tony Boyd-Heron

November 2016

Lewes in Bloom participated in the nationwide America in Bloom competition and symposium in Holland, MI in September 2015. The delegation who represented LIB, including founder Warren Golde, his wife Jane Ellan, and Linda and Dennis Davison noticed sculpture and other art forms in the many gardens and public spaces throughout the town. They also noted that other cities participating in the nationwide America in Bloom symposium showcased art in their gardens and landscapes.

Lewes in Bloom representatives returned home having won the “Circle of Champions Award for Small Cities,” which earned Lewes the right to call itself “The Most Beautiful Small City in the United States.” Soon thereafter, Jane Ellan learned that Gavin and Lou Braithwaite (former owners of Puzzles and Lewes Gourmet) had also been discussing the idea of bringing sculptures and other forms of outdoor public art to Lewes.

The three met – and the result is a new initiative for Lewes called Art in Bloom, which falls under the auspices of Lewes in Bloom. Its mission is “to enhance the beautification and cultural environment of Historic Lewes and the community at large by means of public art.”   While Lewes in Bloom is currently best known for its beautification through floral displays and landscaping – Art in Bloom wishes to add outdoor art (such as sculptures, and perhaps murals and mosaics) in Lewes’ parks and other public spaces to enhance the cultural beauty of the city.

In 2016, Art in Bloom’s Steering Committee included Jane Ellan Golde chair, Tony Boyd-Heron, Carolyn Marshall, Warren Golde, Ed Zygmonski, Laura McGrew and Sue Sandmeyer.  David Beck was the liaison to the Lewes in Bloom Board of Advisors. 

City Council approved the concept of Art in Bloom and the placement of public art in public places in January, 2016. In June of 2016, Mayor Ted Becker appointed an Ad Hoc Committee chaired by Councilman Rob Morgan to study the concept more fully and to develop guidelines.  Other committee members include Councilman Fred Beaufait, Parks and Marina Administrator Alison Kirk, Gavin Braithwaite, Jane Ellan Golde, Diana Beebe, and B.J. Clark. 

Donations for operating expenses and new art projects are gratefully accepted and can be made by sending Art in Bloom a check at PO Box 61, Lewes, DE 19958 or by CLICKING HERE to go to the on-line ART in BLOOM Donation Page.

Your enthusiasm and support are appreciated. We have every reason to believe that we will move forward with the support of the Mayor and City Council in early 2017.



Art in Bloom Steering Committee 2022

Text and photo by Sue Sandmeyer.

Art in Bloom’s Steering Committee meets regularly to discuss various topics related to public art in Lewes. They also work toward locating potential art and artists, working with the City on concepts, and planning potential locations and installations for public art. Each member brings individual expertise to the deliberations with the goal of enhancing the cultural beauty of the city. Their accomplishments include the Silent Sentinels at the Lewes Trailhead, the Menhaden Mural near Otis Smith Park on the side of the Beacon Motel, the Lewes – Rehoboth Canal Drawbridge Mosaic Mural and the first trompe l’oeil painting outside Kindle Restaurant in Lewes . They are now working on the next concept for public art in Lewes.

2022 AIB Steering Committee – From left to right: Ed Zygmonski, Co-chair, Warren Golde, Carolyn Marshall, Dave Beck, Secretary, Sue Sandmeyer, Co-chair, Tony Boyd-Heron, Carol DiSabatino. Not pictured: Laura McGrew